Our core team consists of researchers and  staff, who work in partnership to provide top-quality services to users.


Research Manager: Sunita Sinha, PhD
Sunita manages the research activities at the SBC, ensuring efficient delivery of all services.  She oversees all the SBC services, including Next Generation Sequencing, Sanger Sequencing, and Genotyping.  Sunita is involved at every step from project planning, sample receipt, library preparation and sequencing, and project follow up.  Sunita also organizes and provides ‘in lab’ training as requested by users.  Sunita works closely with all users and ensures that every project receives the services most suited to their needs.

Bioinformatics Specialist: Christine Yanta, MSc
Christine oversees the data management and analysis pipelines at the SBC. Christine provides guidance to the SBC and users, ensuring that analysis requirements are included in project design. Christine’s skills and extensive experience in bioinformatics are available to researchers who require their data analyzed, and she  will provide advice and training for clients who choose to analyze their own data.    

Research and Sequencing Technologist: Shir Yi Toh

Research and Sequencing Technologist: Alisha Goodbla

Bioinformatics Technician: Lenneth Li


Steering Committee

Rachel Fernandez, VP Research & Innovation Office
Marie-Claude Fortin, VP Research & Innovation Office
Leonard Foster, Institutional Programs Office
Colin Ross, Faculty of Pharmacy
Sally Otto, Faculty of Science
Michael Underhill, Faculty of Medicine